How do I unlock my BlacKBerry

06/03/2010


How do I unlock my BlackBerry?

How do I determine if my BlackBerry is “unlocked”?

To determine if your BlackBerry is “unlocked” for use on carriers other than for which it is branded:

1. On your BlackBerry, go to Options > Advanced Options > Sim Card.

2. At that screen type MEPD (see note below) on your keyboard. A new menu will pop up.

  • If your BlackBerry has a SureType keyboard (71xx and 81xx devices) you will need to double-tap the P, so the actual keys entered become M E P P D.

3. Look for Network in the list.

4. If your device is “unlocked”, it should say Disabled or Inactive. If it says Active, it’s still locked to that carrier.

Images of Locked Device

Images of Unlocked Device


To obtain an unlock code for your BlackBerry:

  • You will need to know your IMEI number for your BB. Look at Options, Status. The IMEI may also be found on the white sticker under the battery (sometimes hard to read–make sure you read it right!).
  • Most carriers will give you the unlock code for your BB. Some have policies that vary from having an active account in good-standing (good payment history) to having been a customer for 90 days or more.
  • You can purchase the unlock code from various vendors. These listed below are reputable vendors with good feedback from users.
  • If you purchase an unlock code from an Ebay seller, review the seller ratings.
  • Unlock codes are particular to each BlackBerry. They cannot be used from one BB to the next. Do not purchase your unlock code from a friend who has one and says the code was for his BB.
  • Unlock codes can take anywhere from 4 hours to 10 days to obtain.
  • Some BlackBerrys simply can’t be unlocked for various reasons: The IMEI number cannot be found in the RIM database, or the device was a pre-release, not-to-be-sold device.
  • It is understood that Rogers Wireless (Canada) will no longer give unlock codes (as of July 10, 2007)

Buy Unlock code from Anworm

Once you have your unlock code, proceed to these steps:

NOTE: Make sure you follow these or the instructions offered with your unlock code, correctly. If you enter the unlock code incorrectly five times, the device will permanently lock to the carrier to which it is branded.

You must have a SIM card in your phone to complete these steps (Can be active or inactive)

Blackberry Storm1 and Storm2 (9500, 9520, 9530, 9550) Unlock Code Entry Instructions

1. Turn off all of the wireless connections (manage connections – turn all connections off)

2. Go to the Options icon on the device

3. Select Advanced Options

4. Select SIM Card

5. Hit the Menu key to select Show Keyboard

6. Enter mepd (you will not be able to see the typed info)(enter just the mepd, no spaces, etc.)

7. Enter the letters: mep2

8. Now it will say enter network mep code

9. Enter the code given you, usually about 16 digits

10. Your Storm is now unlocked.

Blackberry 9000 / 9700 / 8900 / 88xx / 83xx Curve Unlock Code Entry Instructions

How to Enter Unlock Codes on BlackBerry 8800 8300 Curve:

1. Go to settings menu => and then Options

2. Select Advanced options => and then Sim card

3. Type MEPD using your Blackberry keyboard (NOTE: You will not see any text appear on the screen while typing MEPD)

4. Type MEP then [ALT BUTTON] then 2 on your Blackberry keyboard (NOTE: You will not see any text appear on the screen while typing MEPD)

5. You should be presented with a prompt “Enter Network MEP Code”. Type in the unlock code and press in the track wheel / jog dial to confirm

6. Your phone is now unlocked

Blackberry 8100 / 8200 Unlock Code Entry Instructions

1. Insert SIM into device

2. Power phone on and Turn off the radio (Turn Wireless Off option) VERY IMPORTANT.

3. Select “Options” THEN SELECT ADVANCED OPTIONS

4. Scroll down and select “SIM Card”

5. Type “MEPPD” (please note that you will not see what you type on the screen)

6. Type “MEPP then [ALT BUTTON] then 2” (please note that you will not see what you type on the screen)

7. Enter the Unlock Code

8. Press enter

9. Reboot device. Device is now unlocked.

Blackberry 8700 Unlock Code Entry Instructions

1. Go to settings

2. go to options

3. go to advanced options

4. go to sim card

5. Type MEPD (not case sensitive) (you will not see text appear on screen while typing)

6. Does it say Network active? If so your phone is locked.

7. Hold the ALT Key while typing in MEPE (not case sensitive, and you will not see text appear on screen while typing)

8. It will say “Enter Network MEP Code, then you type in the unlock code, press in the jog dial to confirm.

9. Your phone is now unlocked

BlackBerry 6xxx 7xxx: ie 6230, 7100, 7290 etc. Unlock Code Instructions

1. Select Options menu on BB.

2. Select SIM CARD menu. To be able to see this you have to type this on the keypad on phone : (TEXT WILL NOT APPEAR ON THE SCREEN until you enter the unlock code)

3. Type ‘MEPD’ for all models, except 7100 in which case in case use ‘MEPPD’.

4. Usually you should see “active” NET lock. In order to disable this lock, type ‘MEP2’ respectively (‘MEPP2’ if phone is 7100)

5. The BB will ask for a code. NOTE: You must use the “alt” or “shift” key to enable numbers so example would be: m-e-p-“alt key”-2 Now you should see the place to enter your net unlock code.(if not, you didn’t type in mep2 or mepp2 properly.)

6. Here you must enter the “NET Unlock Code” that you have.

source:www.blackberryfaq.com

52 Responses to “How do I unlock my BlacKBerry”

  1. zirus Says:

    I have an BB 8800 which is GPS-Software-Locked by the owner before me…..

    Is there any way to unlock the GPS module (Setting always say no connection to satellite) from my BB 8800 to run an Navigation software.

    thanks in Advanced for help.

  2. anworm Says:

    i am not sure about unlock GPS.
    may be change vendor id may unlock this

    or some time you have it-policy that block gps.
    Search “BlackBerry IT-Policy Remove”

  3. jongo.jingaro Says:

    Does any trick exist which bypasses BB server and get you connected using WiFi. I mean all the BB apps are unusable as they are configured for BB plan.

  4. zirus Says:

    how is it possible ti change the vendor id?

  5. anworm Says:

    follow this http://bb.anworm.com/blackberry-unlock/
    change vms you will change vendor id and boot logo

  6. Darkened Says:

    Is it possible to use bb messenger with the bb pin without a data plan?

    Other pages have said no, but they also said no to the mobile browsing without data plan and using the info on this site, it works beautifully for me.

  7. dysfunk Says:

    I just did a boostberry conversion on my Nextel 8350i. I’ve followed all the instructions and have installed the ServiceBook provided in ‘Combined3.zip’ Supposedly fixes the browser and mms problems. I can send and recieve texts, but I cannot send or receive any “multimedia” files such as pictures and what not. Is there anything out there that will solve this issue?
    Also, as posted above:

    Mine does not say Disabiled or anything like that. Every field says ‘Unknown.’ What does this mean?

  8. xiaobao12 Says:

    anworm, your work is much appreciated. Thank you so much for showing us how to get data services without BIS.

    As Darkened said, is there a way to use BB messenger?

    Also, is there a way to enable wireless ability on a 8330m?

    Thank you.

  9. Paddy Says:

    I need a Code to unlock my O2 Germany Blackberry 9700.

    Whats the features with unlock? positive i mean? 😀

  10. anworm Says:

    if you need unlock code you can buy it from me or other unlock service on internet.

    when you unlocked your phone, you can use it on other network provider.

  11. Frank Says:

    Hello, I try to unlock my 8900, but the MML said “No product configuration available”, is this method can use for unlock 8900?

  12. anworm Says:

    at this time MML not support some new model like 8900, 9700. 96xx, 95xx.

    if you need unlock them. buy unlock code.

  13. xiaobao12 Says:

    anworm,

    is there a way to get BB messenger to work if you don’t have BIS? I have browser enabled without BIS right now, following your directions…

    thank you!

  14. anworm Says:

    About IM on blackberry read here http://bb.anworm.com/report-woking-2/

  15. DAVID RODRIGUEZ Says:

    I try to unlock my bb 8520 but the mfi does not detecting device

  16. vinay Says:

    I have BlackBerry Curve 8320 (unlocked).
    I am using IDEA(India) cellular service provider.
    I call the customer care for activating GPRS data plan for my BB 8320, but they say they don’t have GPRS settings for BB phones. They insist me to go for BIS.
    Is there a way for me to get GPRS/EDGE activated in my BB without BIS. Please advice.
    Thanks

  17. navin Kumar Says:

    I have blackberry 8110 n using reliance smart connection browsing n downloading internet through cheap gprs as per use plan but the BB enterprize activation or PIN or BB messenger etc. Not working nor the yahoo messenger software n some other software I downloaded working always showing data services unavailable though I’m using internet webs very well. What’s this problem n why? How can I use software email mms messenger n PIN etc. without taking any costly BB plan 4m provider as using now the gprs?

  18. Wil Says:

    Can i use Blackberry Messenger without BES/BIS?

  19. Oscar Mena Says:

    and how do I get the BB 8300 common, that is not pearl, how do I enter the MEP code? or MEPE? or is MEPD?

  20. Oscar Mena Says:

    and how do I get the BB 8300 common, that is not pearl, how do I enter the MEP code? or MEPE? or is MEPD? please help me it’s urgent

  21. gigi Says:

    hi I have a curve 8900 rogers unlocked, and am using it on the fido network. Is there a way to enable the mms option?

    1.I’ve logged on to bis and sent the service books, did the soft reboot – nothing
    2. had the service provider send it – still nothing
    3. did the advanced > host routing > register thing – and still nothing.

    i’m told that fido doesn’t support mms unless its on one of their blackberry’s, is there a way around this?

    Help Please!!

    THANK YOU!

  22. Amit Dhamiwal Says:

    I have a blackberry bold 9700 in india and i have purchased from a mobile shop and not froms ervice provider. I have checked and found that the phone is unlocked and i can usemy vodafone sim in the phone. Now i called vodafone to start my blackberry services and i started getting edge signal but in lower case. When i try to register and make account on http://mobileemail.vodafone.in/ to start my service the error comes

    ” you blackberry internet service account is suspended or deactivated”

    my phone is not locked still i am not ableto use blackberry services. Whome should i contact. Vodafone people are not helping at all. Please guide freinds

  23. anworm Says:

    Call vodafone support. But I think your bb can’t use Bis. Because it not release from other Bis provider.

  24. Amit Dhamiwal Says:

    How to get it released then. There is not lock on any of the services

  25. thoth Says:

    I was wondering if there is any possibility of using facebook & msn messenger on BB 9700 Without blackberry data service. I am from maldives and we don’t have bb service in our country

    thanks

  26. anworm Says:

    Yes you can use fb v1.6 and can use beefive to I’m with msn, google talk, yahoo
    It work with gprs/3g no need bis to use.

  27. michael Says:

    hi, I would like to unlook my bbb 9700.
    Please tell me where I have to send you my IMEI number.

    regards
    Michael

  28. Reg Says:

    I have an unlocked bb curve 8520, i can surf the internet and bbm, however the call and text functions simply do not work. ‘Call failed’ is all i get. Any help would be appreciated.
    Regards
    Reginald

  29. johnjohn Says:

    I would liketo know if there’s a way to change my pin no. on a bb 8700 ?

  30. Jaime Cortes Says:

    What if after typing the “MEPD” I get UNKNOWN on all the lines??? is it locked?? n I’m trying to get the browser to work. I’m using BB 8830 on boost and can’t download any apps.
    Thank you

  31. cookedburry Says:

    the 9105 you use the volume keys to enable alt mode

    so press the volume keys :- up-down-up-down-up and you will see alt in the top left of the screen

  32. James Gonzales Says:

    hey so did what u said. so its unlocked but does that mean I can talk for free. or what I don’t really get it. I have a blackberry 9700 bold.

  33. BGirl Says:

    i am trying to do but i did not understand a thing ‘-‘

  34. prashil Says:

    There can be many ways to Unlock your phone. As far as i know unlocking by codes is the simple and safe way.You can get unlock code by Blackberry unlock code provider.
    I hope this Blackberry unlock code provider helps you a lot to solve your problem
    Thanks

  35. Anil Kumar Says:

    Please take my comment in this section rather ora download

  36. Amit Says:

    Hi.I hav a bb 9530 already unlocked bt i cannot use bb app store nor any softwares frow bb.however i can surf da net by operamini after changin apn to airtelgprs on airtels network in india bt cannot use bb browser.can anyone help me in any of dese problems..

  37. dEe Says:

    I got the bb 8350i by nextel on boost sim card. Call and 2way work fine, downloaded oprea mini (works). I bought the unlock code for my phone and I can’t get past “type MEP2” nothing happens. Shows sim id 5 unknowns and my # . What am I doin wrong can ne 1 help

  38. Stanley Says:

    Hi I have a blackberry 9700 bold with Vodafone branded carrier, but can not use the blackberry internet service because of incomplete service book. I’ve tried the mepd formula and it says disabled. I went to my service provider vodacom Congo, they said they will send service book to me, up till now nothing yet. Please help me.

  39. marius Says:

    i think this code unlock service should be banned and illegalise because it creates a market for stolen and robbed cell phones.
    lots of people lost their lives due to it and you promote this by support of unblock codes.

    do you like having victims blood on your hands.
    mostly done by pakistanis and nigerians.
    if your daughter gets robbed and raped and her cell is lost would you carry on with cell unlocking codes????????

  40. white Says:

    I HAVE A LOCKED BB 9630(VERIZON CARRIER). CAN I UNLOCK IT? SOFT UNLOCK IS NOT WORKING. DID NOT RECOGNIZE BB 9630. WOULD YOU LIKE TO TELL ME HOW TO UNLOCK BB 9630 PRECISELY. THANKS…

  41. white Says:

    I have a bb 9630. After type MEPD, ‘network – blocked’. MEP CODE input window did not open. What’s the meaning? And, How to unlock it?

  42. Julia Says:

    Ich habe a BB 9780 from tmobile uk and I live in Germany with vodafon contract, so I purchased an unlock code from an ebayseller who has 100% feedbacks.

    now I can phone with my BB with german vodafon SIM card but when I was ordering the BB Internet Options in a Vodafon shop here, they said I had to order it in UK because it’s originally from UK!

    Is it true? and why? What sould I do now???

  43. Trina Says:

    I got a Sprint BB curve 8330 from my niece. I would like 2 unlock it to go on the Boost Mobile network. I don’t see a SIM card. Can I still unlock it and if so how do I obtain the code and instructions. Thnx

  44. rudraa Says:

    how can i unlock my curve 8520 phone, i didn’t see the instructions for that phone

  45. luis Says:

    How can i get free internet

  46. anworm Says:

    Internet not free at all.

  47. ¥0$# Says:

    Just found your page. You’re awesome. Shangmail I downloaded off their site is Beta and will expire in October 10. Do you know where I can get a full ver? Or would it automatically renew?

  48. LN Says:

    MY BLACKBERRY IS UNLOCKED BUT I CANT RECEIVED OR MAKE CALLS, THE BBM WORK AND THE INTERNET AND E MAIL, BUT NOT CALLS, WHAT CAN I DO?
    THANKS

  49. Frik Says:

    thunderbird008@gmail.com
    Sorry for being stupid….. Where can I find files to create new PIN and IMEI ……?
    Kind Regards
    Frik

  50. Frik Says:

    More info on above 9700 bold with OS6 software on phone.
    Kind Regares
    Frik

  51. Eseoghene Says:

    I have a bold 9000 blackberry that has been unlocked but it is unable to subcribe for BIS. Can u help?


Leave a Reply

